About me


My name is Paula Sanchez and I have been diagnosed autistic in my mid-40s. I live with my partner, and our autistic teen son, in the West Country, with our very silly cat.

Apart from spending too much time pootling around the internet, I enjoy making stuff out of yarn and fabric, occasional forays into DIY and gardening, and reading (and re-reading) women’s detective fiction series. I am a PhD student about to embark on research into the experiences of autistic mums.

In February 2017 I left my job of 18 years supporting adults in the criminal justice system.  I loved my work, it was important and it mattered, until privatisation happened. Privatisation meant a challenge to traditional probation values, of social justice and person-centred support, making it harder to support people in the best ways for them. Because when you support people based on their needs, not organisational needs, not targets, not just because that’s the way we’ve always done it, or because it’s cheaper, people flourish and amaze. And that works for us autistic people too. 

Along the way I’ve picked up a load of skills in effective ways to support people. Since failing school I’ve taken a scenic route through education as an adult, gaining professional and academic qualifications, alongside my personal and academic experience and knowledge of autism, and am now keen to put these to good use. I am available for writing, speaking and other related opportunities and can be contacted here through comments, or on Twitter (@autismotherland) or via my Facebook page.